UK Silver Proofs

The first modern UK silver proof coin was issued by the Royal Mint in 1977 with the release of the 1977 Silver Jubilee silver proof crown. Further silver proof crowns were issued in 1980 and 1981, with a one off silver proof twenty pence piece in 1982 to commemorate the introduction of the 20p coin into circulation.

With the issue of the first one pound coin into circulation in 1983, the Royal Mint introduced the silver proof one pound range. A silver proof one pound coin has been issued every year since.

Over the years, the Royal Mint has produced a number of other silver proof coin ranges, such as the silver proof two pounds coin (1986), the silver proof fifty pence piece (1992) and the silver proof five pounds coin (1990).

As well as issuing a silver proof example, the Royal Mint also produce a silver proof piedfort. Piedfort coins have a double thickness compared to standard examples. The silver proof piedfort coins have become very popular amongst coin collectors.

The 10th anniversary of the Britannia series range in 1997 saw the introduction of the silver proof Britannia coinage. Silver proof Britannia sets, as well as individual silver proof one ounce coins have developed a core collector market.

Showing 1–16 of 62 results