4 Coin Sovereign Sets

The first modern 4 coin sovereign set was issued by the Royal Mint in 1980.

The 4 coin gold proof sovereign set contains a five pounds piece (£5), two pounds piece (£2), sovereign and half sovereign.

All 4 coins are made of 22 carat gold. The 4 coin sovereign set contains just over 2 ounces of pure gold, and is popular with coin collectors and bullion investors alike.

Most year sets depict Benedetto Pistrucci’s famous portrayal of St George and the dragon on the reverse of the coins.

All 4 coins come housed in a Royal Mint presentation case, with a numbered certificate of authenticity (COA).

The Royal Mint has issued 4 coin sovereign sets in 1980, 1982, 1985, and every year from 1989 to 2008 (The 5 coin sovereign set was introduced from 2009).

The mintage of the 4 coin sovereign sets varies from year to year. For example, 10,000 sets were issued in 1980, compared to 1,000 sets issued in 1990.

Coin Weight (Grams)
Five Pounds 39.94
Two Pounds 15.98
Sovereign 7.98
Half Sovereign 3.99


Please contact us if you are looking for any specific dates. Sadly, we have not yet been able to list all of our stock on the website.

Showing all 11 results