3 Coin Sovereign Sets

The first modern 3 coin sovereign set was issued by the Royal Mint in 1983.

The 3 coin gold proof sovereign set contains a two pounds piece (£2), sovereign and half sovereign.

All 3 coins are made of 22 carat gold. The 3 coin sovereign set contains 0.8239 ounces of pure gold, and is popular with coin collectors and bullion investors alike.

Most year sets depict Benedetto Pistrucci’s famous portrayal of St George and the dragon on the reverse of the coins.

All 3 coins come housed in a Royal Mint presentation case, with a numbered certificate of authenticity (COA).

The Royal Mint has issued 3 coin sovereign sets in 1983, and every year from 1986 to present day.

A 3 coin sovereign set was issued in 1984, but contained a gold proof five pounds piece, sovereign and half sovereign.

Since 2010, the Royal Mint has issued two different 3 coin sovereign sets. One set contains a £2 down to half sovereign (known as a Premium 3 coin gold proof sovereign set), the other contains a sovereign down to quarter sovereign.

The mintage of the 3 coin sovereign sets varies from year to year. For example, several thousand were issued in the 1980’s, compared to 450 sets issued in 2019.

Coin Weight (Grams)
Two Pounds 15.98
Sovereign 7.98
Half Sovereign 3.99


Please contact us if you are looking for any specific dates. Sadly, we have not yet been able to list all of our stock on the website.

Showing all 6 results